Cooma Open Results

Results from the Cooma Open held at Perisher on Sunday July 24.

Cooma Open 2011.xls

Australian 2.5/5/10km Freestyle Championship

The 2011 Australian Championship series continued at Falls Creek yesterday with distance events in freestyle technique. In the open women 5km freestyle Esther Bottomley added another title to her collection, winning by a minute ahead of a her competitors. Callum Watson similarly cleaned up the open men 10km freestyle by over a minute and a half ahead of second place. Continue reading

Images from Australian Classic Sprint

A selection of images from the Australian Classic Sprint Championship at Falls Creek:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Australian Classic Sprint Championship

This year for the first time there are two Australian Sprint Championships – one in Classic technique and one in Freestyle. The Australian Classic Sprint Championship was held today at Falls Creek. In the open men Callum Watson won the A-Final ahead of Ben Sim and Phillip Bellingham. Esther Bottomley won the open women A-Final ahead of Lucy Glanville and Aimee Watson. As the highest ranked U20 athletes in the finals Bellingham and Glanville claimed the Australian Junior titles. In the younger age classes Hamish Roberts won the U16 boys final and Xanthea Dewez the U16 girls final. Competitors were treated to almost perfect racing conditions, with firm tracks, blue skis and no wind. Qualification results are posted below, the finals results will come later. Continue reading

Falls Creek Ski de Femme Report

An image and report from the Ski de Femme at Falls Creek on Sunday July 10.

Continue reading

Competition Rule Summary

Further to the updated Australian Competition Rules published on this site earlier this week, this PDF below contains the main competition rules relevant for athletes and coaches. This includes the definition of classic technique, obstruction and overtaking rules, and rules for coaches and officials during the competition.

Athletes or coaches who are unsure of the interpretation of the rules should contact the relevant race organiser or the Technical Delegate of the competition.

NSW and ACT Distance Championships – July 16 and 17 2011

ACT and NSW Distance Championships 

A great weekend of racing at Perisher with the ACT Classic and NSW Freestyle Distance Championships being held. Overall 1st placegetters over the weekend were Callum Watson and Lucy Glanville who successfully won both the Open Classic and Freestyle events. Chris Darlington placed 2nd on the Open Men and Daniel Walker acquitted himself well in his 1st year of Juniors, placing 3rd in the Open Men’s.

Georgia Merritt and Siobhan Jones took 2nd place honours on each day and the Boys U16’s was also a split affair with Hamish Roberts claiming the classic crown and Damon Morton the freestyle crown.  Full Results below in PDF format. Continue reading

Australian Team Selection Policies

Further to the summary of Australian Team Selection Policies announced in May here are the full policy documents:

Results – Howmans Gap Allstar Races

Results from the Snowgum Wodonga High Plains Tour and the YMCA Howmans Gap Interclub Relays held at Falls Creek on July 16-17 are available in PDF format below. The winners of the High Plains Tour 10km events were Ben Derrick and Lescinska Grimmer.

Some images are included below, more are likely to be available on the HGA Website. Continue reading

2011 Australian Competition Rules

The Ski  & Snowboard Australia Cross Country Committee (SAXC)  has recently endorsed an updated version of the Australian Cross Country Skiing Competition Rules. These rules have two components; General Rules, which relate to the organisation of competitions in Australia; and Competition Rules which are based on the FIS International Competition Rules (ICR) with some minor alteration for different levels of competition.

The ICR and SAXC Competitions Rules are included here in PDF format. Note that there is an additional ICR document which includes recent updates made by FIS.

Continue reading