2016 AUS Rollerski Champs & AUSXC Awards Dinner

The 2016 Australian Rollerski Championships will be held on Saturday April 9 at the Stromlo Forest  Park in Canberra. This year there is also a new social event on the schedule – the inaugural AUSXC Awards Dinner!

This will be the fourth year of Australian Rollerski Championships since they were reintroduced after an extended hiatus. The same two events as in 2015 will be contested again out at Stromlo – a  Freestyle Sprint and a Freestyle Criterium. The reigning champions for both events are Damon Morton of Australian Biathlon fame and Slovenian Winter Olympian Barbara Jezersek. Rollerski demo equipment and races prizes are on offer from event sponsor Snow Trek & Travel. See event flier for more details.

Traditionally the Cross Country Skier of the Year and Junior Cross Country Skier of the Year are awarded at the Ski & Snowboard Australia Awards night in Melbourne, at the same time that they are nominated in the overall Athlete and Junior Athlete of the Year categories. This year all the cross country skiing nominations for the SSA Awards will be announced at the AUSXC Awards, together with other categories that are still being finalised.

The AUSXC Awards Dinner will be held at The Clubhouse at Lakeview Gardens in Jerrabomberra. The evening will also feature images and footage from Australian Team athletes recently returned from overseas and from the 2015 Australian winter. Tickets are $30 for adults and $15 for kids, available via Trybooking.com up until Monday April 4. All skiing enthusiasts are welcome, not just those involved in the rollerski races.

The weekend will also feature several other activities, including a Level O Dryland Coaching Clinic on the Saturday afternoon, and an Advanced Coaching Clinic on the Sunday.  Further details of these activities will be posted soon on AUSXC.com.

An online entry method for the Rollerski Championship is still being confirmed. The race entry fee is $20 for adults and $15 for juniors (U16) by Thursday April 7, or $5 extra on the race day (cash only).  All proceeds go to the XC Towards 2018 fundraising project. An Australian Standards approved cycle helmet must be worn.

Preliminary Schedule
Saturday April 9:

  • 9:00-9:30 am – Registration – Criterium Circuit, Stromlo Forest Park
  • 10:00 am – Australian Championship Freestyle Sprint, Stromlo Forest Park
  • 11:30 am – Australian Championship Freestyle Criterium, Stromlo Forest Park
  • 12:00 pm – Presentations – Stromlo Forest Park
  • 2:00-5:30 pm – Level 0 Coach Dryland Clinic (Rollerskiing & Hill-bounding)
  • 6:30 pm – AUSXC Awards Dinner – Lakeview Gardens, Jerrabomberra

Sunday April 10:

  • Time/Details TBC – State Team/Squad Training Activity
  • Time/Details TBC – Advanced Coaching Clinic

Damon Morton leading Daniel Sarri in 2015


Australian Junior Team athletes Lilly Boland, Ella Jackson and Stella Ajani in 2015

Snow Trek and Travel


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: