2016 Australian Rollerski Championship Report & Results

The 2016 Australian Rollerski Championships were held at the Stromlo Forest Park in Canberra last Saturday April 9. Record numbers of rollerskiers and spectators attended the event, with over 50 participants in both the Sprint and Criterium events. Australian Junior Team athletes Kat Paul from Taggerty and Liam Burton from Canberra took home the honours in the major championship events, after close racing on the Stromlo 1.2km criterium circuit. The races were sponsored by Snow Trek & Travel, and organised by Snowsports ACT and Ski & Snowboard Australia with support from NSW XC.

rollerski races 2016 - Heli - crop

U12 Junior Women winner – Heli Laajoki (photo by Roller Ski Australia)

Full results in PDF format:

The fastest person on the track throughout the races was local Norwegian import Jack Roestbakken racing on a pair of inline skates, who had no competition in the Open category. Most competitors raced in the Championship category and U16 Junior category, which were for rollerskiers using “normal” training wheels. The organisers would like to apologise for an error in timing in the sprint qualification that saw one male and one female athlete seeded incorrectly for the finals. While this error has been corrected in the linked results above, the flow-on effect in the seeding resulted in different athletes facing up in the quarter and semi-finals, and would likely have had an impact on which athletes qualified through to the A-finals.

Kat Paul had a close battle in the women’s Championship class against Junior Team team-mate Stella Ajani, with only metres separating the two in both the Sprint final and the 4.8km Criterium event. Liam Burton was only the fourth fastest qualifier in the men’s Championship Sprint, getting stronger as the races went on to win the A-final just ahead of Australian U23 World Championship coach Ewan Watson. Liam won the 7.2km Criterium more comfortably, breaking away from runner-up Nick Montgomery with a lap to go.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the U16 classes Phoebe Cridland from Sydney and Declan Burke from Charlotte Pass won both the Sprint and 2.4km Criterium events. In the U12 events Heli Laajoki from Canberra was the first junior girl and Harri Sylvester from Yackandandah was the first junior boy. A new Masters class was established on the day, with Tim Greville from Berridale winning the Sprint and JC Legras from Melbourne winning the 7.2km Criterium in the men, and Lynn-Maree Cullen from Wodonga the fastest woman in both events. More photos from the day can be viewed on the Roller Ski Australia Facebook page. Many thanks to all the volunteers, competitors and spectators for making it a successful day!

Snow Trek and Travel


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: